The Yale Debate Association ended its season with the American Parliamentary Debate Association’s Club of the Year Award, given for cumulative performance, besting the second-place team from Harvard 558.75-343.

In the national championship tournament, which took place at the University of Pennsylvania this weekend, seniors Michael Barton ’14 and Zach Bakal ’14 won the national championship as a team. After qualifying more debaters than any other university in the country, Yale placed 5 out of 7 of its teams in the top 16 nationally.

“We had an excellent showing this weekend and one of our most successful in the past few years,” said Diana Li ’15, the association’s captain. “Winning nationals is a great way to cap off a really successful year.”

Other Yalies placing in the top 16 were Tony Nguyen ’16, Edwin Zhang ’16, Nick Cugini ’14, Diana Li ’15, Eric Brooks ’14, Sam Ward-Packard ’14, Allison Douglis ’15, and Joanna Zheng ’14.

More than 100 teams competed in the tournament.