UPDATED: 10:59 p.m.

The students have spoken: Sarah Eidelson ’12 will be Ward 1’s next alderman.

In an incredibly tight race, with a News poll a week before the race showing the candidates statistically tied, a well-organized campaign helped propel Eidelson to victory. In the final tally, Eidelson earned 563 to opponent Vinay Nayak’s ’14 399. Ward 1, which has traditionally seen low voter turnout, reported 973 total voters Tuesday night, which shatters 2005’s record of 800 poll-goers.

“[My supporters] are amazing. I can’t even begin to describe how amazing they are,” Eidelson said after learning of the election results. “Tonight is just the beginning, I’m excited to work to give students a better place to call home.”

Her victory comes after a day of frenetic canvassing, with many of her campaign workers waking up before 5 a.m. to help set up her campaign and beginning to canvass in earnest at 10 a.m. Eidelson campaign manager Mac Herring ’12 attributed the campaign’s success to the number of volunteers who spent 10 hours canvassing, estimated at around 50.

Eidelson thanked her supporters in a speech following the results, and pledged to work even harder as alderman than she did during the campaign. Shortly afterward, Nayak called Eidelson to congratulate her.

In the mayoral race, meanwhile, Mayor John DeStefano Jr. defeated challenger Jeffrey Kerekes to win a record 10th term, earning 55 percent of the vote to Kerekes’ 45 percent. When he completes this 10th term, DeStefano will be the longest-serving mayor in New Haven history.

Eidelson’s term will start on Jan. 1, 2012.

WARD 1 alderman: Sarah Eidelson ’12 defeats Vinay Nayak ’14, 563-399. Ward 1 sees 962 voters.

WARD 22 alderman: Jeanette Morrison tops Cordelia Thorpe, 302-92.

MAYOR: Mayor John DeStefano Jr. has 55.0 percent of the vote over Jeffrey Kerekes, 7,991 votes for DeStefano to Kerekes’ 6,550.

Check back for more updates.