With seven weeks to go before the crucial Sept. 13 Democratic primary, Mayor John DeStefano Jr.’s campaign for a record tenth term in office got a symbolic boost Tuesday.

DeStefano won the endorsement of the Democratic Town Committee at its biannual convention with the votes of 37 of its 60 members. While the endorsement gave his bid a lift amid a crowded field of mayoral candidates, Tuesday marked the first time since 2001 that DeStefano lost committee votes to an opponent.

Eight votes went to budget watchdog Jeffrey Kerekes, the latest entrant into the race, another eight members abstained and supporters of Clifton Graves and Tony Dawson boycotted the convention.

In his acceptance speech at a Newhallville school Tuesday, DeStefano called for civic unity as the city struggles through “the toughest national economy of most of our lifetimes.” Not a candidate of just one section of the city or one issue, he said, he aims to be mayor of all of the city.

“Yo soy alcalde para todos, todos, de la ciudad!” he said, appealing to the city’s large Spanish-speaking population.

While DeStefano cited reasons for optimism about the city’s future — including the roll out of college scholarships through New Haven Promise and improved standardized test scores in the school district — he acknowledged several persisting challenges. The city needs to redouble its efforts to reduce violence, drawing particular attention to ending the “prison merry-go-round” by which newly released prisoners with low employment prospects commit offenses that land them back in jail.

“New Haven, along with our state partners, is now engaged in a unique and aggressive effort to identify before release those most likely to make the right choices and those most likely to take up where they left off,” DeStefano said.

If he wins reelection, DeStefano will become the longest-serving mayor in New Haven history.

Below is a full roster of the endorsed Democratic candidates in each of the city’s 30 wards, provided by the New Haven Independent. Republicans found only one candidate to compete in New Haven elections this year: Ward 18 Alderwoman Arlene DePino, who is running for reelection.

Ward 1: there will be no endorsed candidate in Ward 1, where all candidates will run in the Nov. 8 general election.

Ward 2: Douglas Bethea.

Ward 3: Jacqueline James-Evans (incumbent).

Ward 4: Andrea Jackson-Brooks (incumbent).

Ward 5: Jorge Perez (incumbent).

Ward 6: Dolores Colón (incumbent).

Ward 7: Douglas Hausladen.

Ward 8: Michael Smart (incumbent).

Ward 9: Matt Smith ’98 (incumbent).

Ward 10: Justin Elicker FES ’10 SOM ’10.

Ward 11: No endorsement.

Ward 12: Mark Stopa.

Ward 13: David Baker.

Ward 14: Stephanie Bauer (incumbent).

Ward 15: Ernie Santiago.

Ward 16: Migdalia Castro (incumbent).

Ward 17: Al Paolillo (incumbent).

Ward 18: Salvatore Deccola.

Ward 19: Alfreda Edwards (incumbent).

Ward 20: Charles Blango (incumbent).

Ward 21: Moses Nelson.

Ward 22: Greg Morehead (incumbent).

Ward 23: Tyisha Walker.

Ward 24: Marcus Paca (incumbent).

Ward 25: Michael Slattery.

Ward 26: Sergio Rodriguez (incumbent).

Ward 27: Stan Kontagiannis.

Ward 28: Claudette Robinson-Thorpe (incumbent).

Ward 29: Board of Aldermen President Carl Goldfield (incumbent).

Ward 30: Darnell Goldson (incumbent).