George Levesque, assistant dean of academic affairs, announced the six winners of Yale College’s 2011 teaching prizes to the News today. Yale College Dean Mary Miller will hold a public reception to celebrate the winners on Monday, April 25, at 5:30 pm in the Linonia and Brothers Room of Sterling Memorial Library.

Read the list of winners below.

The Sidonie Miskimin Clauss Prize for Teaching Excellence in the Humanities:

Sun-Joo Shin, Professor of Philosophy

The Lex Hixon ’63 Prize for Teaching Excellence in the Social Sciences:

Vivek Sharma, Assistant Professor of Political Science

The Dylan Hixon ’88 Prize for Teaching Excellence in the Natural Sciences:

Dana Angluin, Professor of Computer Science

The Richard H. Brodhead ’68 Prize for Teaching Excellence by Non-Ladder Faculty:

Sybil Alexandrov, Senior Lector in Spanish

The Harwood F. Byrnes / Richard B. Sewall Teaching Prize:

This prize is given “to a ‘towering figure’ in undergraduate education…who over a long period of service has inspired a great number of students and consistently fostered the learning process both inside and outside the classroom.”

William Kelly, Sumitomo Professor of Japanese Studies & Professor of Anthropology

Sarai Ribicoff Award for the Encouragement of Teaching at Yale College:

Awarded to a junior member of the Yale College Faculty in the Humanities

Kevin Poole, Assistant Professor of Spanish