The Yale Repertory Theatre will continue its commitment to producing new plays during the 2011-2012 season. Of the six show season, three of the shows will be world premieres, including new works by Amy Herzog DRA ’07, Will Eno and one play to be announced, according to a post on the New York Times’ ArtsBeat blog.

Herzog’s play “Belleville” revolves around a young American couple living in Paris whose relationship is turned upside down by surprising revelations. It will be directed by Anne Kauffman who staged the Rep’s production of “We Have Always Lived in the Castle” in September. “The Realistic Jonses,” Eno’s play about two eerily similar suburban couples, will be directed by Sam Gold. Gold was celebrated for his 2009 production of “Circle Mirror Transformation” with Playwrights Horizons and also directed the critically acclaimed production of Kim Rosenstock’s DRA ‘10 “Tiger’s Be Still” for Roundabout Underground last fall.

In each of the past two seasons, the Rep has premiered three new works (this year’s “Autumn Sonata” is a US premier adaptation) one of which has been a musical (“Pop” and “We Have Always Lived in the Castle”). As it stands now, the 2011-2012 features only straight plays with one new work to be announced.

The other three shows that will fill out the 2011-2012 season were each written more than 100 years ago: Chekhov’s “Three Sisters,” Moliere’s “Doctor In Spite of Himself” and Shakespeare’s “Winter’s Tale.” The production of “Three Sisters” will feature a translation by Sarah Ruhl, a 2010 Tony Award nominee for her play “In the Next Room (or the Vibrator Play).” The show will be mounted by “In the Next Room” director Les Waters. Christopher Bayes will direct “A Doctor in Spite of Himself” using a new translation he collaborated on with Steven Epp, and Liz Diamond will stage “Winter’s Tale.” It remains to be seen whether Diamond will be inspired by the body paint and feathers of Cooper Lewis’ ’11 and the Dramat’s post-punk production of “The Winter’s Tale” which played at the Rep in October 2010.