While undergrad architecture students are toiling for honors (or simply passing) grades this week, Dean of the Yale School of Architecture Robert A. M. Stern ARC ’65 just received one of the higher honors in his field.

Stern has been awarded the prestigious 2011 Richard H. Driehaus Prize for Classical Architecture, which goes to practitioners who represent the best of traditional, classical, sustainable architecture and urbanism. The award, which was established in 2003 through the University of Notre Dame School of Architecture, consists of $200,000 and a model of the Choregic Monument of Lysikrates, which Stern will receive at a March 26 ceremony in Chicago. Stern said he plans to give the prize money to Yale to support classical architecture.

Last year, Sterling professor emeritus of the history of art Vincent Scully received the Henry Hope Reed Award, which is also given through the University of Notre Dame School of Architecture, in conjunction with the Driehaus Prize. The Reed Award honors achievement in the promotion and preservation of the same ideals as the Driehaus Prize, but it is dedicated to recognizing those who work outside the field of architecture.

[via ArtsBeat]