“Mayor’s ninth bid no surprise” stated that Mayor John DeStefano Jr. would become the longest-serving mayor in city history if re-elected for a ninth term. He would become the longest-serving elected mayor. The longest-serving mayor was Elizur Goodrich, who held the office for 18 years and nine months. Although Goodrich was elected to the office for the first year, the General Assembly voted him into office for subsequent year-long terms.