Nati Tesfaye
Contributing Reporter
Author Archive
New Haven’s unhoused population endures a winter with decreased shelter capacity

As waitlists for shelter beds grow, people experiencing homelessness turn to warming centers and tent cities as alternative means of surviving the cold.

Youth housing service Y2Y New Haven plans expansion to new site

With plans in the works for a new building on Grand Avenue, the student-led unhoused youth services nonprofit is aiming to ramp up its service efforts.

Lawmakers propose bills to protect Connecticut tenants unions

Amid an increase in tenants unions across the state, lawmakers have begun drafting bills to help unions gain protection and government recognition.

City leaders hope to alleviate affordable housing crisis in 2023

With a shortage of housing units and skyrocketing prices, New Haveners currently face an affordable housing crisis.

Chabad at Yale holds menorah lighting

Students gathered to commemorate the first night of Hanukkah with a ceremony at Beinecke Plaza on Dec. 18.

Yale Votes hosts panel on state of American democracy

Members of the Yale community gathered at the Afro-American Cultural Center to hear from a special panel on the state of American democracy on Nov. 9.

House director Timeica E. Bethel-Macaire talks new role during Trumbull College Tea

The director of the Afro-American Cultural Center described her own experiences as a student and her plans for the academic year.

American Politics and Public Policy Workshop series hosts talk on police in politics

White, a political science professor at Syracuse University, presented on the relationship between police and politics at an event held on Wednesday Oct. 26.

Yale’s Black Men’s Union holds first induction in three years

At a ceremony on Saturday Oct. 15, board members, upperclassmen and alums welcomed 54 new inductees to the Black Men’s Union and the greater Black community at Yale.

Sunil Amrith Wins the 2022 Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for History

Yale history professor Sunil Amrith was among the 12 laureates honored by the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences on Thursday.