Today, the United States Department of Education released the list of 55 colleges and universities that are under investigation for potentially violating Title IX policies.

This unprecedented action comes in the wake of Tuesday’s publication of “Not Alone” — a report by a White House task force with recommendations on how to better combat and respond to sexual violence on college campuses. The list of colleges includes Dartmouth College, Princeton University, the University of Connecticut and both Harvard College and Law School. The 15-month Title IX investigation at Yale was concluded in 2012 through a voluntary resolution agreement with the University. 

“We are making this list available in an effort to bring more transparency to our enforcement work and to foster better public awareness of civil rights,” said Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights Catherine E. Lhamon in a public statement.

According to a January article by the Huffington Post, 39 members of Congress had previously sent a letter to the Education Department’s Office of Civil Rights (OCR) requesting that it increase transparency by disclosing the schools that have violated federal sexual assault-related laws.

Following the release of the list, Alexandra Brodsky ’12 LAW ’16, co-founder of Know Your IX, told the HuffPo she was excited that the Department listened to student demands.

“It allows the public to hold schools accountable, it allows us to hold the Education Department accountable when we see a school being under investigation for years with no conclusion,” Brodsky said to the Huffington Post.

The OCR will update the list regularly and make it available for public viewing upon request. No institution of higher education has yet lost federal funding due to Title IX violations, according to the HuffPo.