The American Academy of Arts and Sciences elected seven members from the Yale faculty, including President-elect Peter Salovey, to the 2013 group of new members.

The academy is a policy research center devoted to the cross-disciplinary study of various emerging problems, with headquarters in Cambridge, Mass. The Academy currently has 4,551 fellows and 603 foreign honorary members, and added a total of 198 new members earlier this month.

In addition to Salovey, the other six inductees from Yale are law professor Christine Jolls, law professor Dan Kahan, physics professor Nicholas Read, economics professor Mark Rosenzweig, history professor Stuart Schwartz and English professor Michael Warner.