After guiding the Yale men’s ice hockey team to their first Frozen Four in 61 years, head coach Keith Allain ’80 was named a finalist for the Spencer Penrose Award, an honor given to the best coach of the Division I men’s hockey season.

Allain was named one of seven finalists in an April 3 announcement by the American Hockey Coaches Association. Allain was last named a Penrose finalist in 2009, when Yale compiled a 21-10-3 record and reached the NCAA Northeast regional final. In seven seasons at Yale, Allain has boasted an overall record of 136-84-19 and led the Bulldogs to more victories than any other Ivy League team during his tenure.

The head coaches of the other two Frozen Four teams, St. Cloud State and Quinippiac, were also named finalists, along with the head coaches of Miami (OH), Niagara, and Minnesota State. The AHCA announced today that the head coach of UMass Lowell would take home the final award.

The award will be presented at a ceremony in Naples, Flo. on May 4 and is determined by a vote by members of the AHCA.