Tonight, Yale College Dean Mary Miller will recognize the eight recipients of the Greer, Heyman and Poorvu prizes, which are awarded annually to recognize the accomplishments of untenured ladder faculty members.

The Greer Prize is awarded to faculty members in the natural or social sciences for exceptional research or publication, while the Heyman Prize is awarded for outstanding scholarly publication in the humanities. The Poorvu Award recognizes professors who have made significant contributions to interdisciplinary research. Each prize includes a monetary reward to support additional research.

Read the list of recipients below:


The Arthur Greer Memorial Prize in the Natural or Social Sciences:

June Gruber, assistant professor of psychology


Samuel and Ronnie Heyman Prize for Outstanding Scholarly Publication

Jacqueline Jung, assistant professor of history of art

Pauline LeVen, assistant professor of classics

Birgit Brander Rasmussen, assistant professor of American studies and of ethnicity, race, and migration

Eliyahu Stern, assistant professor of religious studies

John Williams, assistant professor of English


Poorvu Family Award for Interdisciplinary Teaching

Paola Bertucci, assistant professor of history of science, history of medicine

Sarah Demers, assistant professor of physics