Nominations for faculty to serve on the presidential search committee are due at noon today — and there’s been a groundswell of support for a website trying to help to expedite the process.

A group of Yalies created to help students submit nominations for faculty members to serve on the presidential search committee, a group which will eventually be chosen by Yale Corporation Senior Fellow Edward Bass ’67 ARC ’72.

But there’s not much time left — nominations close today at noon. To keep it simple, the group suggested four professors as candidates: Meg Urry, chair of the Physics Department; George Chauncey ’77 RD ’89, head of the American studies major; Stephen Pitti ’91, the master of Ezra Stiles and a professor of history; and Joseph Roach, director of the program in theater studies.

“We are troubled that although we have been invited to nominate four faculty members to join this committee, those nominations are open only until Tuesday 9/4 (TODAY) at noon. That’s less than one business day of public input,” the website reads.

The presidential search committee will have eight Corporation fellows and four faculty members, all chosen by Bass.