Earlier this year, head coach Tom Williams described linebacker Will McHale ’13 as the “lieutenant” of fellow linebacker and captain, Jordan Haynes ’12.

Now, the lieutenant has been promoted.

At the team banquet on Sunday, Williams announced that McHale had been unanimously elected by his teammates as the 135th captain of the Yale football team.

The vote for captain took place on Thursday at the Smilow Center following morning practice.

“This is an incredible honor. I am so excited to help lead our efforts in working toward an Ivy title,” McHale told Yale Sports Publicity. “I can’t wait to get going.”

The junior ranks second in the Ivy League with 59 solo tackles, behind only the man he is replacing as captain. Against Columbia three weeks ago, McHale recovered a fumble that he had helped to create, setting up a field goal that ultimately gave the Bulldogs the margin of victory they needed.

“He is cut from the same cloth as the men who came before him,” Williams said. “He is intense, he is passionate and he is tireless. He will be a great captain for our football team.”

McHale became the fourth linebacker in the last five years to be elected captain.

The team also announced the winners of its season awards at the banquet. Among the prizes given were:

Ted Blair Award, given to the most valuable player

Quarterback Patrick Witt ’12

Jordan Olivar Award, given to that senior, other than the captain, who, through his devotion to Yale football, has earned the highest respect of his teammates

Defensive lineman Jake Stoller ’12

Charles Loftus Award, given to the most valuable freshman

Left tackle Ben Carbery ’15

Jim Keppel Award (Offensive Back of the Year)

Tailback Alex Thomas ’12

Ryan LoProto Award (Defensive Back of the Year)

Cornerback Drew Baldwin ’12

Defensive Lineman of the Year

Defensive tackle Pat Moran ’12

Ted Turner Award (Offensive Lineman of the Year)

Guard Gabriel Fernandez ’12

Specialist of the Year

Safety John Powers ’13