Three Yale graduates and two Yale professors have been named among 94 recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers. The award, presented by President Barack Obama, is considered the highest honor bestowed by the government on up-and-coming science and engineering professionals.

“It is inspiring to see the innovative work being done by these scientists and engineers as they ramp up their careers—careers that I know will be not only personally rewarding but also invaluable to the Nation,” Obama said.

Recipients are selected for innovation in their research as well as commitment to public service and community.

The following awardees are affiliated with Yale:

Dr. John Brownstein M.Phil ’03, Ph.D ‘04

Dr. Kristin C. Lewis BC ‘95

Dr. Katherine E. Aidala CC ‘01

Dr. Andre D. Taylor, Assistant Professor of Chemical & Environmental Engineering

Dr. Tanya Z. Fischer, Assistant Clinical Professor of Neurology at School of Medicine

A complete list of recipients can be found here.

Correction: September 27, 2011

An earlier version of this article mistakenly reported the number of professors who were awarded the honor. Two, not one were.