Linebacker Jordan Haynes ’12 is the next captain of Yale football, head coach Tom Williams announced at the season-ending team banquet Saturday night.

The linebacker led the team with 59 solo tackles and 102 total stops — 47 more than the next Bulldog — and shared the team’s Most Valuable Player award with wide receiver Jordan Forney ’11.

“It’s an incredible honor for me, and I have a tough act to follow,” the linebacker told Yale Sports Publicity. “We are all very sore after 10 games this season, but all I could think about last night was getting back on the field. I can’t wait to get in the weight room.”

The vote for captain was held Friday night in Boston, before Haynes contributed another great effort against the Crimson. He had half a sack and a team-leading 14 tackles. The week before, against Princeton, he saved the Bulldogs from an upset when his second half interception in the end zone preserved Yale’s one-point margin of victory.

The team also announced the winners of its season awards at the banquet. Among the prizes given were:

Ted Blair Award, given to the most valuable player on the varsity team:

Linebacker Jordan Haynes ’12 and wide receiver Jordan Forney ’11

Jordan Olivar Award, given to that senior, other than the captain, who, through his devotion to Yale football, has earned the highest respect of his teammates:

Safety Adam Money ’11

Norman S. Hall Memorial Trophy, given to an individual for outstanding service to Yale football:

Linebacker Jordan Haynes ’12

Charles Loftus Award, given to the most valuable freshman:

Running back Deon Randall ’14 and offensive lineman Wes Gavin ’14

Chester J. LaRoche Award, given to that senior who, by his character, academic talents and concern for others, did the most for Yale:

Linebacker Jesse Reising ’11