The voting was swift and the results decisive. There will be no run-offs.

Rich Tao ’10 walked away from a crowded field filled with his close friends Wednesday evening, claiming a whopping 45.2 percent to claim the title of Yale College Council president-elect. Harrison Marks ’10 and Katrina Landeta ’10 lagged behind, finishing with 34.2 percent and 20.6 percent of the vote, respectively.

[ydn-legacy-photo-inline id=”12322″ ]

Further down the ticket, it was a triumphant night for student-government incumbents, with YCC or Freshman College Council-based candidates claiming victories over their outsider opposition.

Incumbent Vice President Emily Schofield ’09 handily defeated challenger Jarret Burks ’10 in a landslide, 69.5 percent to 30.5 percent.

YouTube phenomenon and Saybrook College YCC representative Jon Wu ’11 proved that yes, in fact, he could defeat challenger and Timothy Dwight College YCC representative Will Alexander ’10 for the treasurer spot. But the race was close: Wu edged Alexander by an eight-point margin, narrow for a night in which other candidates cleared their opposition by double digits.

And next year, Yalies will not be “without their Wang” on the YCC’s Executive Board. In a race that saw this year’s only campaign violation, Jonathan Edwards College YCC representative Jasper Wang ’10 triumphed over FCC Vice-Chair Abigail Cheung ’11 by a wide margin. Wang took home a comfortable 65.3 percent, followed by Cheung at 34.7 percent.

It was a messy ending in the race for Yale Student Activities Committee chair, but a happy one for Branford College YSAC representative and Spring Fling co-Chair Colin Leatherbury ’09. The junior emerged from a pack of four candidates, topping nearest rival and YSAC outsider Kristian Henderson ’09 by only 5.4 points. A few more votes and Henderson could have swung a run-off: YCC election rules mandate a 5-percentage-point margin to declare someone the winner outright.

Rounding out the field, Davenport College YCC representative Jon Terenzetti ’10 pulled in 25.2 percent of the vote and outsider Travis Long ’10 — a self-proclaimed “work horse” — collected 17.6 percent of the vote.

The Undergraduate Organizations Funding Committee will remain in the hands of one of its own next year — sophomore Bryan “BT” Twarek ’10. To succeed current Chair Joshua Tan ’09, Twarek edged current UOFC board members Anne Xu ’09 and Matt Marr ’10. Twarek captured a plurality of 41.1 percent, followed by Xu at 34.2 percent and Marr at 24.7 percent.