Steven Syverud ’06 has won the presidency of the Yale College Council, claiming 55.8 percent of the vote in a race that saw an unprecedented 3,440 students vote in the council’s annual officer elections, which ended tonight at 9 p.m., said YCC Vice President Chance Carlisle ’05, who coordinated the election.

Syverud outpaced his three rivals by a wide margin — R. David Edelman ’07 collected 18.8 percent of the vote, Alan Kennedy-Shaffer ’06 received 15.6 percent and Sam Penziner ’07 received 9.8 percent. Marissa Brittenham ’07 won the vice presidency with 50 percent of the vote.

In the other races, Emery Choi ’07 won the election for treasurer with 27.3 percent of the vote, Kasdin Miller ’07 was elected secretary with 44.6 percent and Jackie Carter ’07 was elected chair of the Yale Student Activities Committee with 31.2 percent of the vote. Jennie Przybylo ’07 was elected chair of the Undergraduate Organizations Funding Committee in an uncontested race.

Please see tomorrow’s Yale Daily News for complete coverage of the YCC officer election.